Road trip 2, day 1, Alarcón

Ok, fair enough, Alarcón is quite far away from Costa Blanca but this trip still makes part of my experience of my sabbatical year in Spain. So I make it short and I write today’s post about my 1st day in Castilla-La Mancha, the province you might know or heard of in Miguel de Cervantes’ Don Quijote.

Alarcón is a tiny medieval village with a lovely castle and a pretty view on the river Júcar, about 190km south-east of Madrid.

Castle of Alarcón and Júcar river

Castle of Alarcón and Júcar river

I spent the afternoon with a short hike along the river, strolled through the few and narrow streets and squares, had a many pictures taken there and captured the sunset in the pine wood which surrounds Alarcón.

church Santo Domingo de Silos, 13th century

church Santo Domingo de Silos, 13th century

Main square

Main square

P1020120 P1020124

I’m spending the night in El Hidalgo de Alarcón, a cosy and rustic B&B in the quiet village. Nights are still chilly up here so I’m happy that the heating is working very well.

I’m looking forward until tomorrow when I’ll discover Cuenca and more of Castilla-La Mancha! 🙂

NIght night everybody!

sA

 

Leave a Reply

